Reduce Profile Visibility in Zoom Recordings

Once a host begins recording a Zoom meeting a pop-up notification will appear prompting you to acknowledge the recording and either Continue or Leave the meeting.

You can still opt for your voice and likeness not to be on the recording by simply muting your microphone and stopping your video display.  However, depending on the recording layout used by the host, a thumbnail containing your zoom profile name may still appear in the recording.

To Mute Your Microphone and Stop Your Video

To mute your microphone, click the microphone button in the lower left corner of the meeting screen, or press ALT + A.

To stop your video, click the camera button in the lower left corner of the meeting screen, or press ALT + V.

mute microphone and stop video icons

This screen shot shows the microphone and camera turned OFF:

Unmute and Start Video icons on zoom taskbar

By default  Zoom recordings capture the “active speaker,” so if your microphone is muted your name will most likely not display on the recording. The host may use the “Gallery View” recording layout which would display your name only- without video or audio - but that is rare.  Use of any recording will be governed by University information security policies.

User preferences

If you prefer your camera and audio off by default when joining a meeting, consider using some of the settings below;

Settings located in the Zoom desktop software:

  1. Log into the Zoom desktop application
  2. Click the gear icon to open settings
  3. Click "Video" menu
  4. Enable "Turn off my video when joining a meeting"
  5. Click "Audio" menu
  6. Enable "Mute my microphone when joining a meeting"

Settings located in the Zoom mobile software:

  1. Log into the Zoom mobile application
  2. Tap settings
  3. Enable "Always mute my microphone"
  4. Enable "Always turn off my video"
Was this helpful?
33% helpful - 6 reviews

Details

Article ID: 104184
Created
Thu 4/2/20 2:20 PM
Modified
Mon 9/13/21 2:14 PM