Skip to Knowledge Base content

How to change notification preferences for comments and tasks

The "comment" feature on Box allows users to improve work flow efficiency by providing a standardized location where users can communicate, log changes, and assign tasks. Click here to learn more about adding comments and tasks. 

Depending on the notification settings assigned to the collaborated folder, users may or may not receive email notifications when someone adds a comment or a task.

Help! I'm receiving emails every time someone comments on our collaborated files

  1. In Box in a web browser, go to your "Account Settings" located under the User Profile tab 
  2. Select the Sharing tab 
  3. Scroll to the "Email Notifications" section
  4. Uncheck the "Comments" box under the "In folders I've joined" column and click "Save Changes" 
    • You will no longer receive email notifications when new comments are added to folders where you are a collaborator.  

I need to be notified when comments are added to my collaborated files

Box can send notification emails regarding any activity performed in users' shared Box folders. This function will notify users when folders (and files in folders) are downloaded, uploaded, commented on, previewed, or deleted. Users can set default notifications that will apply to all folders they created or all folders they are collaborators on. Users can also set notification settings for specific folders that will override their default settings. Click here to learn more about setting notification preferences. 

Was this helpful?
0 reviews

Details

Article ID: 51862
Created
Wed 4/11/18 11:58 AM
Modified
Tue 5/8/18 8:39 AM